Hannover Braunschweig Göttingen Wolfsburg

The Metropolregion Hannover Braunschweig Göttingen Wolfsburg is one of eleven metropolitan regions in Germany. In this area with a population of 3.8 million are working municipalities, companies, organisations, universities and the Land of Lower Saxony with the objective of securing the sustainable economic competitiveness on a national and international level.

The Metropolregion GmbH was founded in 2009. The corporation consists of the four name giving cities, three mergers of municipalities organised in associations, economy, science and the Land of Lower Saxony.

Supervisory Board

A supervisory board with 18 members is lead in a two-year change by the mayors of the cities Hannover and Braunschweig. These two cities also each provide a managing director.

General Meeting of Shareholders

The general meeting of the shareholders of the Metropolregion GmbH comprises up to 42 persons. A parliamentary advisory council is guiding the development of the association. Annually, a central meeting (Metropolversammlung) is organized.

Carrier and Partner

The Metropolregion GmbH and the associations Municipalities in the Metropolregion and Economy in the Metropolregion as well as universities and scientific institutions in the Metropolregion are operating as carriers and partners of projects on a regional, national and international level.

The Metropolregion Hannover Braunschweig Göttingen Wolfsburg has a strong municipal anchoring. At the moment, 33 cities, 15 administrative districts, 4 communities, the region Hannover and three municipal associations are organized in the Verein Kommunen. The association pools the interests of the municipalities as one of the shareholders in the Metropolregion GmbH. The association significantly contributes to the financing of the company. Next to the function as a shareholder, the Verein Kommunen is carrier and partner in various regional, national and European projects. During the last years, the association gained project funds of around 2.2 million euro. The Verein Kommunen is carrier of the Amt electric, which is committed to the development of electric mobility in the Metropolregion.

The cities Hannover, Braunschweig, Göttingen and Wolfsburg are members in the Verein Kommunen as well as single shareholders of the Metropolregion GmbH. The four name-giving cities are providing further shareholder contributions to fund the Metropolregion GmbH. The membership is open to all municipalities and municipal associations in the Metropolregion. A project-related membership – even for municipalities outside of the Metropolregion – is possible.

The association Economy in the Metropolregion Hannover Braunschweig Göttingen Wolfsburg pools the interests of the economy in the Metropolregion GmbH. The association receives 23.1% partnership shares of the Metropolregion GmbH and provides four members in the supervisory board.

The association Economy was founded in May 2009. The membership is open for all companies and economy-related associations.

The strength of the Metropolregion is the large amount of research and scientific institutions located in the area. The existing innovation and knowledge potentials results from the variety of scientific research institutions and universities. 17 universities with around 433 economy-related institutes and faculties are present at the location. Various important non-university research institutions have their headquarters within the Metropolregion. For example seven institutes of the Max Plank Society, three institutes of the Fraunhofer Society, four institutions of the Helmholtz Association and some of the Leibniz Association.

As a shareholder, the Land Lower Saxony holds 8 % of the partnership shares. The interests of the Land are coordinated by the state chancellery.